Volume 1 (2006)

Volume 2 (2007)

Volume 3 (2008)

Volume 4 (2009)

About the VOD Journal

Editorial Policy

Voices of Democracy publishes reliable, authenticated primary texts, critical/interpretive scholarly essays, teaching-learning materials, and additional resources relating to great speeches and public debates in the United States. Voices of Democracy welcomes submissions that relate the study of speeches to one of the seven themes or deliberative topics of interest to the project: citizenship and civic identity, civil rights, freedom of speech, religion and morality in public life, social and economic justice, U.S. internationalism, and war and peace. Publications in Voices of Democracy are peer reviewed. Voices of Democracy will be published periodically at, as the review, editing, and technical processing of submissions permits.

Submissions should be e-mailed in electronic form as Word documents to:

Shawn J. Parry-Giles at

All editorial inquiries should be directed to Shawn J. Parry-Giles at (301) 405-6527

or or J. Michael Hogan at 814-865-1003 or

New curriculum units for the Voices of Democracy journal will be posted as they are accepted for publication.

Editorial Board


Shawn J. Parry-Giles, University of Maryland

J. Michael Hogan, Pennsylvania State University

Associate Editors & Webmasters:

Robert N. Gaines, University of Maryland

Trevor Parry-Giles, University of Maryland

Editorial Assistants:

Alyssa Samek, University of Maryland

James Gilmore, University of Maryland

Jessica Sheffield, Pennsylvania State University

Editorial Board

Karrin Vasby Anderson, Colorado State University

Vanessa B. Beasley, Vanderbilt University

Thomas W. Benson, Pennsylvania State University

Patricia L. Bizzell, College of the Holy Cross

Jason Edward Black, University of Alabama

Diane M. Blair, California State University, Fresno

Denise M. Bostdorff, The College of Wooster

Lisa Corrigan, University of Arkansas

James Darsey, Georgia State University

Leroy G. Dorsey, Texas A&M University

Bonnie J. Dow, Vanderbilt University

Jeffrey P. Drury, Central Michigan University

Paul Fessler, Dordt College

Sandra L. French, Radford University

David Henry, University of Nevada, Las Vegas

Amy Heyse, California State University, Long Beach

Lisa Shawn Hogan, Pennsylvania State University

Davis W. Houck, Florida State University

Susan C. Jarratt, University of California, Irvine

Cheryl R. Jorgensen-Earp, Lynchburg College

James J. Kimble, Seton Hall University

James F. Klumpp, University of Maryland

Shirley Wilson Logan, University of Maryland

Kristy Maddux, University of Maryland

Martin J. Medhurst, Baylor University

Jennifer R. Mercieca, Texas A&M University

Charles E. Morris III, Boston College

John M. Murphy, University of Illinois

Nneka Ifeoma Ofulue, University of Maryland

Lester C. Olson, University of Pittsburgh

Garth E. Pauley, Calvin College

Cindy Koenig Richards, Willamette University

Susan Romano, University of New Mexico

Cindy Spurlock, Appalachian State University

Belinda A. Stillion-Southard, Lewis and Clark College

Bjørn F. Stillion-Southard, Lewis and Clark College

Dave Tell, University of Kansas

Eric King Watts, University of North Carolina

Jill M. Weber, Hollins University

Kirt H. Wilson, University of Minnesota

David Zarefsky, Northwestern University

Copyright Information

Voices of Democracy: The U. S. Oratory Project, College Park, MD 20742-7635

 © Copyright 2008 by Voices of Democracy: The U. S. Oratory Project. All rights reserved.

 The author of an essay or text published in Voices of Democracy may reprint all or part of the essay or text elsewhere without fee, provided that an Editor of Voices of Democracy is notified in advance, an application for permission is completed and approved, and full credit is given for the original publication. An application for permission to reprint material originally published in Voices of Democracy should be addressed to the Editors of Voices of Democracy: The U. S. Oratory Project (Shawn Parry-Giles at (301) 405-6527 or or J. Michael Hogan at 814-865-1003 or Voices of Democracy: The U. S. Oratory Project requires assignment of copyright from authors.